Lasagna Night

One word will always put a smile on Hubby’s face:  Lasagna.

I can’t tell you why I don’t make it often.  Perhaps in my subconscious I’m holding it back as a very special plate, one of those things to be held up and examined and declared “Magnifico”!

Yeah, right!

More likely,  it’s a time-consuming menu item that I reserve for days when I have plenty of time for the task.  Like Sundays, or Holy days that allow cooking.  So, Sunday it was, and I declared to Hubby, “I’m making lasagna tonight.”  Instant ear-to-ear grin.

Lasagna is one of the few dishes that I just make – no recipe card, no netbook internet page, no cookbook pulled from the cupboard.  I’ve been making lasagna since I moved out on my own, and after the second time, it was imprinted according to my favorite ingredients.

My favorite lasagna ingredients include pre-processed foods.  I’ve included the brand names I use, to show that mostly preservative-free dishes can be made at home for those who don’t have time to make dishes from scratch.

This time I cheated a bit more than normal.  I found “no boil” noodles, and determined to use them as a test.   (They passed, by the way.)

lasagna

Lasagna

1 lb grass fed beef

brown and season with mineral salt and cracked pepper, drain

1/2 one small white onion, diced

saute in beef for 5 minutes

1 jar dei fratelli traditional spaghetti sauce

mix into beef and onions and turn off heat

2 16 oz daisy large curd 4% cottage cheese

2 farm fresh eggs

2 pinches mineral salt

mix together

1 tablespoon dried basil leaves

1/4 tsp garlic powder

grind the basil leaves (I did this by rubbing them firmly between my palms), then add them with the garlic powder to the cottage cheese mix

16 oz sargento mozzarella (not the skim option)

1 pkg barelli no boil flat lasagna noodles

layer meat on the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan*

add cottage cheese layer

add cheese layer

add noodle layer

repeat

sprinkle cheese on top

cover tightly with foil

bake at 375 for 50-60 minutes, then let set 10 minutes before cutting

*Since it’s just Hubby and I at home, I split the mix into two bread pans and a glass casserole dish.  The casserole went into the freezer for a later date, and I baked the two bread pans so that we’d have leftovers during the week.

It was a warm day, so we baked the lasagna on the Traeger with apple pellets.  It was delicious!

Comment on this Practical article...

