Dirty Hands and a Good Breakdown

This past Sunday I had a good breakdown.

Have you ever had a good breakdown?

Ya know, one of those unexpected moments in life that everyone has, except it’s a bad thing that happens at the optimal time?

A bad breakdown would go like such:

Two women, a friend and myself, drive down a dirt road with three pent-up children on a misty day, also the first day of hunting season.    The axle breaks on the car and we come to a halt right as we’re going through an intersection.  The three kids run happily through the wet ditches as my friend and I struggle to move the vehicle off the road (this is before everyone carried cell phones).

A parade of trucks, a guided hunting party, advances toward us.  The trucks line up like an exclamation point, as a man approaches from the lead vehicle to ask what this is all about.  He’s not a happy camper.  He assesses the situation and then tells us that they’ll get the vehicle out of the way, but we women had no business being out on a day like such.  Eh?  We women?  No business being out?  Like the roads should only be open to hunters on opening day.  Sheesh!

True to his words, they removed the offensive vehicle from their path.

We asked if they could give us a ride to get help.

There was some hem-hawing and some mention of a mobile phone, alcohol fumes wafting like haze around them as they conferred.  Then they decided they really couldn’t do any more for us, and let us know that there was a house about a half mile up the road that we could walk to.

Then they left, parading past with their loaded guns, their loaded selves and their delayed plans.

Now that is a bad breakdown.

A good breakdown would go like such:

It’s laundry day and the final load is placed into the dryer.  The day is overcast and cool, with wind whipping and gusting, working up the determination to usher in the rain clouds lagging behind.

The dryer buzzes to nag that the load is complete.  Reaching in to pull out the sheets and light blanket, my hands grasp wet cloth.  Surprised, I consider that perhaps I hadn’t set the timer for long enough, and rerun the dryer for another 40 minutes.

The next morning, I pull the still-damp blankets from the dryer and hang them to dry as I test the dryer for heat.  Nothing.  Kaput.

An internet shopping search and an hour later, I had found that there was a $100 difference between the two local stores for the dryer I had chosen, plus the lower cost store had free delivery.  I did what I had to do.

Ordered!  Click, click, click.

Delivered the next day, and before the laundry had a chance to pile up.

Now that’s what I call a good breakdown.

Dirty Hands

So, laundry story aside (and I do like the new dryer, yes I do), I did get spinach into the soil on Sunday and before the rain came, so those little spinach seeds  should be happy.  Since I was already playing in the dirt, I also planted another of the leaky buckets.

Danvers carrots, spinach and lettuce went into this newest bucket and the bucket was placed outdoors, in a sheltered location that will receive full sun until noon.

I moved the previously sown bucket out to Garden Three, where it could benefit from some rainwater, then Hubby helped me move the self watering container to the north side of the house; it’s  in a wind sheltered location that receives part sun.  The little lettuce starts were in shock; we’ll see if this rain water bounces them back to life.

I also planted some peas at the base of the cattle panel trellis in Garden One.  It seemed the thing to do.  If I’d had my hugelkultur bed set up, I could have plunked in some potatoes as well.  Realistically, the hugelkultur bed may not happen this year.

A girl can dream, can’t she?

;)

Later,

Dreamin’ Girl

2 thoughts on “Dirty Hands and a Good Breakdown

  1. really? so did you read his book Permaculture? Those raised beds are really interesting and the young branches provide lots of lignin to help the good fungi to grow that helps the plants to utilize elements and nutrients that is in the soil

    Like

    • I’m fascinated with permaculture, and those raised beds. I’ve not read the book, but have perused articles online, and am subscribed to newsletters.

      We have a fabulous, aged and dried wood pile sitting on the acreage behind us, so I had hoped to get a bed set up this year. As usual, I’ve piled on too many projects for the garden – my planning page is much bigger than my time and energy allotment!

      Like

Comment on this Practical article...

