Who Doesn’t Like Easy Food

OK.  There are probably a lot of people who truly prefer those foods that are created with love and time spent in the kitchen, slathered and handled and perfected…  uh, can I live in one of those homes?

Seriously.

I like food.

I like to eat food.

I like to eat someone else’s food.

That simply doesn’t work for our household.

Hubby does cook, and he sometimes enjoys laboring over a meal.  I do too…

Sometimes.

However, the majority of the time, we’re really looking for food that can be fixed quickly and that has good flavor.  It’s a bonus if it’s also healthful.

That said, I’m always scouting for easy recipes that do not come in a box or a can.  I want to know what I ingest, thank you very much!

I thought I’d share one of the recipes that passed our easy and healthful test; a full flavored sloppy joe mix that can be whipped up in a jiffy.

This recipe was shared by a friend and coworker, from her mother’s kitchen:

“Easy” Blue Ribbon Sloppy Joe’s

  • 1 1/2 lbs hamburger (healthy version = grass fed beef hamburger)

Brown and season with (to your personal taste):

  • salt (healthy version = mineral laden sea salt)
  • pepper
  • onion
  • garlic

Drain the beef mix and add:

  • 1-2 T flour (healthy version = unbleached whole wheat flour)
  • 1-2 T chili powder

Mix thoroughly over low heat (in the skillet), then add:

  • 1/2 can evaporated milk
  • 1 c catsup  (healthy version = organic)
  • 1 T brown sugar (healthy version = raw sugar)

Mix well while stirring over low heat.

Recipe

Simple ingredients for sloppy joe's

Easy Peasy Sloppy Joe's

There you have it.

I told you it was easy.  Easy peasy!

Enjoy!

Dreamin’ Girl

Comment on this Practical article...

