Container Garden Plan

This year I’m going to grow most of my early starts in containers. I like to try new things each year and keep what works as a gardening standard

I’ve had very little practice with container gardening, mostly casually grown flowers and herbs, so this project will have a learning curve. I thought you might like to follow along.

Before we start, I have to share my bargain purchase from last month:  heirloom seed packets from Menards for .09 per packet. I bought 55 of them! They’re mostly flowers, because I’m such a food/seed snob.  I have a terrific resource for heirloom vegetable seed.

Ah, the bees and butterflies will be ever so happy!  :)

Getting Started

The plan.  Seedlings are going to be handled a bit differently this year, I am planning to start the early crops directly in their assigned containers.  Why stress them out by moving them, right?

I think I’ll also do mixed container tests: early short season, mixed with later long season crops, and a few flower seeds tossed in for attracting the beneficial insects we began luring last year.  Here’s a quick guide to a growing calendar for zones 4 and 5.

I used this approach to gardening in the ground last year with mixed success. The best benefit was the overall space savings.

What I learned last year is that timing, sun, and water needs have to be considered for this to work well.

Here are a few of my containers:

Isn’t that exciting?!  I know, I know, I’m such a sap over rusty old things.

The containers on the ground were salvaged items, so I just couldn’t beat the price.

The washstand was an auction purchase – I’ve removed the rollers for the project.

I’ve placed them next to the stationed water trough planter so that they’ll receive full sun.  An added benefit is that this creates a nice border for the west edge of this garden plot.

The metal containers will be used for the late season crops: summer squash, cucumbers, sweet potatoes and peppers, since the containers are pretty sturdy and can handle trellises.  I’ll also use these containers to do succession planting of the early crops that will have a second season.

I’ll intersperse lettuce seed and onion sets with the strawberries in the water trough, adding spinach and dill later in the season.

I have other plastic/resin containers that will be reused for the cole crops and started in my front porch “greenhouse”.  The current soil will be dumped onto the garden areas and covered with leaves.  (It will be interesting to see how the walking onions and wild violets in the containers react.)

The leaky 5 gallon buckets will be used for the carrot test, mixed with cilantro and a beneficial flower for fun.  One leaky bucket will be saved for the washstand, to grow the sweet potatoes and beneficial flowers.

I’ll duct tape the worst bucket, leaving some exposed crack for water drainage.

The remaining container will grow onions, lettuce, spinach, beets, cauliflower, broccoli and radishes.  It will be a self-watering container.  I’ll show you that project later.

The soil I’ll use will be sterile soil and I’ll use the sterile potting soil mix that the seeds will start in for the duration of their growing period.

This is the mix I’m using this year (I play with all recipes, it’s just one of those things about me):

Here is my planned soil mix recipe:

  • Peat moss  – 2 parts
  • Vermiculite  –  1 part
  • Perlite and Compost mix  –  2 parts
PS – that limestone will go on the garden in the fall.

There you have it!  The “practical” container garden plan:  affordable.  Now to start the main garden plots plan.

Have you started your garden plans?  I’m late to get started on my seedlings!

 

Dreamin’ Girl

4 thoughts on “Container Garden Plan

  1. Pingback: Garden Plots | Practicalities

  2. Pingback: Container Garden Plan « Practicalities | The Garden Seeds

Comment on this Practical article...

